G. O. Phillips Prize

The Glyn O. Phillips Prize is awarded biennially at the International Hydrocolloids Conferences (IHC), and consists of a cash prize and a medal. The inaugural prize was awarded in 2022 to Prof. Stefan Kasapis of the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, Australia. The prize was instituted to recognize the legacy of Prof. G. O. Phillips of Wrexham Glyndwr University, Wales, to the field of food hydrocolloids, polysaccharides and dietary fibre.

Candidates should be mid-career scientists, academic or industrial, who are making excellent and sustained contributions to the field of food hydrocolloids, polysaccharides or dietary fibre, and who are regular contributors to IHC conferences. Candidates must be nominated by a peer. Nominations should include a cover letter summarizing the reason for the nomination and a Curriculum Vitae of the candidate, including a list of publications and indication of their citations and a strong indication of mentorship. In the case of industrial candidates where a publication record may not truly reflect their contribution to the field, a second nominator may be sought, and nomination letters should describe fully the candidate's overall contribution to the field of hydrocolloids, e.g., patents, external presentations, mentorship of colleagues, etc. The winner of the Glyn O. Phillips Prize will be invited to present a keynote address at the 2024 IHC in Palmerston North, New Zealand, Nov. 12-15.

Nominations for the 2024 Glyn O. Phillips prize have now closed.

The International Hydrocolloids Society Inc., registered in Canada, is the legal entity that oversees the International Hydrocolloids Conferences.


Prof. Steve W. Cui
Prof. H. Douglas Goff
Prof. Mingyong Xie
Prof. Stefan Kasapis

Directors, International Hydrocolloids Society